ICAN global Parliamentary Pledge

August 27, 2014

Parliamentarians played a major role in realizing the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons. Now we are seeking their help to promote the signature and ratification of the treaty by all nations. The Parliamentary Pledge is a commitment by parliamentarians around the world to work for their government to join the treaty.

Download the Pledge and encourage your MPs, MSPs, AMs, and MLAs to sign! Ask them to email info@icanw.org to register their endorsement.

Pledge for the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons:
“We, the undersigned parliamentarians,warmly welcome the adoption of the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons on 7 July 2017 as a significant step towards the realization of a nuclear-weapon-free world.

We share the deep concern expressed in the preamble about the catastrophic humanitarian consequences that would result from any use of nuclear weapons and we recognize the consequent need to eliminate these inhumane and abhorrent weapons.

As parliamentarians, we pledge to work for the signature and ratification of this landmark treaty by our respective countries, as we consider the abolition of nuclear weapons to be a global public good of the highest order and an essential step to promote the security and well-being of all peoples.”

Help us collect signatures

Any current member of a national, state/provincial or regional parliament or congress may sign the Appeal. It is open to parliamentarians from all countries, so please contact your MP and MEP, as well as your Scottish MSP, Welsh AM, Northern Irish MLA if you have one. To sign, they should email info@icanw.org, indicating their endorsement.

Please check the list here to see your parliamentarian has already signed.

Sample email to your parliamentarian:

Dear [Name],

As you may be aware, on 7 July 2017, 122 governments voted at the UN to adopt the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons. The next step is for nations to sign and ratify the agreement, so that it can become binding international law.

Nuclear weapons have now been categorically rejected by the international community. The new Treaty puts these abhorrent weapons on the same legal footing as other indiscriminate and inhumane weapons, including biological weapons, chemical weapons, anti-personnel landmines and cluster munitions.

Please kindly let me know if you would be happy to add your name to ICAN’s parliamentary Pledge. This Pledge is a commitment by parliamentarians around the world to work to promote the signature and ratification of the treaty by their respective countries.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,



UK parliamentarians that signed ICAN’s previous Global Parliamentary Appeal to start negotiations on a nuclear weapons ban treaty:


Ms Diane Abbott MP
Ms Katy Clark MP
Mr Jeremy Corbyn MP
Mr Pat Doherty MP
Mr Mark Durkan MP
Ms Michelle Gildernew MP
Ms Caroline Lucas MP
Mr Angus Brendan MacNeil MP
Mr Paul Maskey MP
Baroness Sue Miller
Mr Francie Molloy MP
Mr Graeme Morris MP
Mr Conor Murphy MP
Ms Sandra Osborne MP
Mr Angus Robertson MP
Dame Joan Ruddock MP
Mr Mike Weir MP
Dr Eilidh Whiteford MP
Mr Pete Wishart MP
Scottish Parliament
Ms Clare Adamson MSP
Mr Alasdair Allan MSP
Mr Christian Allard MSP
Mr Colin Beattie MSP
Ms Angela Constance MSP
Mr Graeme Dey MSP
Mr Bob Doris MSP
Mr James Dornon MSP
Mr Neil Findlay MSP
Mr John Finnie MSP
Mr Kenneth Gibson MSP
Mr Jamie Hepburn MSP
Ms Cara Hilton MSP
Mr Colin Keir MSP
Mr Bill Kidd MSP
Ms Joan McAlpine MSP
Mr Angus MacDonald MSP
Mr Mark McDonald MSP
Mr Mike MacKenzie MSP
Ms Aileen McLeod MSP
Ms Fiona McLeod MSP
Mr Stuart McMillan MSP
Mr Alex Neil MSP
Mr Dennis Robertson MSP
Mr Alex Salmond MSP
Mr Stewart Stevenson MSP
Mr Kevin Stewart MSP
Mr Dave Thompson MSP
Ms Maureen Watt MSP
Mr Paul Wheelhouse MSP
National Assembly for Wales
Mr Rhodri Glyn Thomas AM
Northern Ireland Assembly
Mr Steven Agnew MLA
Ms Michaela Boyle MLA
Mr Cathal Boylan MLA
Mr Mickey Bradey MLA
Ms Carál Ní Chuilín MLA
Ms Megan Fearon MLA
Mr Phil Flanagan MLA
Mr Chris Hazzard MLA
Mr Gerry Kelly MLA
Mr Sean Lynch MLA
Mr Alex Maskey MLA
Mr Declan McAleer MLA
Ms Jennifer McCann MLA
Mr Fra McCann MLA
Mr Raymond McCartney MLA
Ms Rosaleen McCorley MLA
Mr Barry McElduff MLA
Ms Maeve McLaughlin MLA
Mr Mitchel McLaughlin MLA
Ms Bronwyn McGahan MLA
Mr Martin McGuinness MLA
Mr Daithí McKay MLA
Mr Oliver McMullan MLA
Mr Ian Milne MLA
Mr John O’Dowd MLA
Ms Cathal Ó hoisín MLA
Ms Michelle O’Neill MLA
Ms Sue Ramsey MLA
Ms Caitríona Ruane MLA
Mr Pat Sheehan MLA
European Parliament
Ms Martina Anderson MEP

  • ICAN UK on Twitter

      Sorry, no Tweets were found.

    • Supporters

    • sheen

      “If Gandhi and Martin Luther King Jr were alive today, they would be part of ICAN.”

      Martin Sheen Actor and activist

    • bankimoon

      “I salute ICAN for working with such commitment and creativity.”

      Ban Ki-moon UN chief

    • yokoono

      “We can do it together. With your help, our voice will be made still stronger. Imagine peace.”

      Yoko Ono Artist

    • jodywilliams

      “Governments say a nuclear weapons ban is unlikely. Don’t believe it. They said the same about a mine ban treaty.”

      Jody Williams Nobel laureate

    • desmondtutu

      “With your support, we can take ICAN its full distance – all the way to zero nuclear weapons.”

      Desmond Tutu Nobel laureate

    • herbiehancock

      “Because I cannot tolerate these appalling weapons, I whole-heartedly support ICAN.”

      Herbie Hancock Jazz musician

    • hansblix

      “I am proud to support the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons.”

      Hans Blix Weapons inspector

    • dalailama

      “I can imagine a world without nuclear weapons, and I support ICAN.”

      Dalai Lama Nobel laureate